Is black label beer suitable for people with gluten allergies or sensitivities?

Be careful with pre-made beverage blends, such as those intended for pineapple. Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Be careful with pre-made beverage blends, such as those used for pina coladas, many of which contain gluten ingredients as flavorings. Beer labeled gluten-free is likely safe for people with celiac disease.

These varieties are made from gluten-free grains in facilities that prevent cross-contamination with gluten. Yes, pure, distilled whiskey (or whiskey), even if it's made with wheat, barley, or rye, is considered gluten-free. The European Union states that any beer with a gluten level below 20 ppm can be labeled “gluten-free” and, in fact, some breweries brew beers with barley (often low-protein barley) and extract enough gluten to reach that limit. As demand for gluten-free products increases (due to a dramatic increase in awareness of issues such as celiac disease and gluten sensitivity), the beer world has started to respond with a greater selection of beers that are safe to drink.

As the most famous whiskey in the world, Jack Daniel's Black Label Tennessee Whiskey stands out for its clean flavor and its absence of carbohydrates, gluten, fats or cholesterol. But tell the beer world that something is impossible and they'll give you a beer made with millet, sorghum, corn, rice, buckwheat, fruit, or any combination of these ingredients. Since most countries are governed by strict labeling rules, varieties that carry a regulated gluten-free label are likely to be safe for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Wheat, barley and rye are the “three main foods” most associated with gluten, which is why almost all beers contain some amount of gluten and that is why it may seem impossible to create a beer that is completely gluten-free.

Of course, beer lovers with any sensitivity to gluten, especially celiacs, should read labels carefully, as different countries have different rules on what is meant by “gluten-free”.